Jump To Navigation

Bergen County Leaving the Scene of an Accident

In New Jersey, the charge of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in violation of NJSA 39:4-129, is a very serious offense. The majority of people who are issued tickets for this charge have had a minor fender bender, usually in a crowded parking lot. Some of these individuals may actually be completely unaware of the fact that they were even involved in an accident due to the minor contact between cars. However, the Courts take this charge very seriously. Even if no injury is involved, all New Jersey drivers are required to immediately stop their vehicles at the scene of an accident, or as close to the scene as possible, and exchange information with other drivers or render assistance as necessary.

While fear of prosecution may tempt drivers to flee, penalties for violating the statute are severe. Further, "serious" property damage or bodily injury is not required. N.J.S.A. 39:4-129(d) covers accidents causing damage to one's own vehicle, public signs, and municipal property. Even small dents requiring repairs over $250 create a presumption of knowledge of the offense. That's why it's very Important to contact an experienced traffic ticket defense lawyer to represent you if you have been charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident in New Jersey.

New Jersey Hit and Run Charges

The charges you face and the potential penalty under New Jersey law for leaving the scene of an accident depend on the circumstances of accident itself. The more serious the accident was, the more serious your charges will be.

If the accident caused injury or death, you could face:

  1. up to 180 days in jail;
  2. a one year driver's license suspension;
  3. 8 motor vehicle points on your license; and
  4. fines reaching $5,000.

If the accident caused only vehicle damage, you could face:

  1. up to 30 days in jail;
  2. six month driver's license suspension;
  3. 2 motor vehicle points; and
  4. fines reaching $400.
    (This applies even if the vehicle is unattended).
As with many criminal charges, if you have an old Leaving Scene of Accident conviction on your record, your penalty for this charge will be multiplied.

In addition to criminal charges and the effect of a suspended driver's license, a hit and run conviction can increase your insurance rates or cause you to lose your car insurance altogether.

Over the past 13 years, Attorney Jennifer M. Mendelsohn has successfully represented several hundred clients in serious motor vehicle offenses including the charge of Leaving the Scene of an Accident/Hit and Run. She will analyze police reports, witness statements and other evidence being brought against you in order to develop a solid defense on your behalf and she will work hard to protect your driving record.

Protect Your Driving Privileges: Speak With an Experienced Bergen & Passaic County Leaving the Scene of an Accident Attorney

If you have been charged in New Jersey with Leaving the Scene of an Accident (NJSA 39:4-129), call the Law Offices of Jennifer M. Mendelsohn at 1-800-761-2349 today for a free consultation regarding your specific case.

Do You Have a Case?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Contact Us

Law Offices of Jennifer M. Mendelsohn, LLC
16-00 Route 208 South
Suite 302
Fair Lawn, NJ 07410
Toll Free: 800-761-2349
Phone: 201-796-7700
Fax: 201-796-7702
Map and Directions

Linked In

Handicap Accessible & Free Parking