Jump To Navigation

Bergen County Driving with Suspended or Revoked License Traffic Attorney

39:3-40 Driving on a Suspended/Revoked License in New Jersey

Thousands of motorists in New Jersey are stopped everyday for routine traffic violations and are surprised to be informed their license is suspended or revoked. When a motorist gets a ticket for driving with a suspended or revoked license, he/she faces a driver's license suspension of up to 6 months as well as mandatory fines even if it is a first offense. For a second offense, the driver faces mandatory jail from 1 to 5 days and for a third offense, the driver must serve 10 days in jail. Additionally, if the driver was previously suspended as a result of a prior DWI, he/she faces a mandatory jail sentence of between 10 and 90 days regardless of whether or not it is a first offense.

Did You Even Know You Were Suspended From Driving?

You may not realize that the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) suspended your driving privilege. The MVC is obligated to send a Scheduled Suspension Notice to you. If you did not receive the MVC Notice, you may have a viable defense to the charge. Attorney Jennifer M. Mendelsohn routinely helps clients who are stopped for a minor traffic violation only to find out their driving privileges have been suspended and they are charged with driving while suspended. In these cases, the Prosecutor has the obligation to demonstrate the MVC took reasonable steps to inform the motorist of his/her suspension.

Was your license suspended because of MVC Points?

If you have 12 or more MVC Points, your New Jersey driver's license will be suspended. Ms. Mendelsohn will examine the previous convictions for evidence that there were errors in those cases. There may be grounds to argue that the license suspension was not valid.

Was your License Suspended Because You Owe Money?

Your New Jersey Driver's License can be suspended if you owe money to the State. Under NJ law, your license can be suspended for any of the following reasons:

*Failure to Pay Child Support

*Failure to Pay Parking Tickets

*Failure to pay MVC or DMV surcharges

*Failure to Carry Motor Vehicle Insurance

*Failure to Pay a License Restoration Fee

Protect Yourself - Hire An Experienced Traffic Defense Attorney

Don't just plead guilty! If you have been charged in New Jersey with Driving While Suspended (NJSA 39:3-40), call the Law Offices of Jennifer M. Mendelsohn. Jennifer Mendelsohn is an aggressive traffic defense attorney who has represented individuals all over the State of New Jersey who have received Summonses for Driving When Suspended or Revoked. She is skilled in negotiating with the various Prosecutors throughout the State and will help defend your legal rights and protect your driving record. Call 1-800-761-2349 for a free consultation regarding your specific case.

Do You Have a Case?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Contact Us

Law Offices of Jennifer M. Mendelsohn, LLC
16-00 Route 208 South
Suite 302
Fair Lawn, NJ 07410
Toll Free: 800-761-2349
Phone: 201-796-7700
Fax: 201-796-7702
Map and Directions

Linked In

Handicap Accessible & Free Parking