Driving With Suspended Or Revoked License
Thousands of motorists in New Jersey are stopped every day for routine traffic violations and are surprised to be informed that their license is suspended or revoked. When a motorist gets a ticket for driving with a suspended or revoked license, he/she faces a driver’s license suspension of up to six months as well as mandatory fines even if it is a first offense. For a second offense, the driver faces mandatory jail time of one to five days; and for a third offense, the driver must serve 10 days in jail. Additionally, if the driver’s license was previously suspended as the result of a DWI arrest, the driver faces a mandatory jail sentence between 10 and 90 days regardless of whether it is a first offense.
Many people do not realize they had suspended driving privileges.
When the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) suspends or revokes your driver’s license, you may not have even realized it. You may not have received a formal notice from the MVC, even though it is required to send you one. Jennifer M. Mendelsohn can help you if the police stopped you for a traffic violation only to charge you with driving with a suspended or revoked license. The state has the burden of proving that the MVC informed you of your suspension or revocation.
MVC points can cause suspension.
In New Jersey, 12 or more MVC points on your license lead to a suspension. Jennifer Mendelsohn can assess the incidents that led to the points on your license. If she finds an error in these cases, you can bring a strong defense for invalid license suspension.
Was your license suspended because you owe money?
Your New Jersey driver’s license can be suspended if you owe money to the state. Under New Jersey law, your license can be suspended for any of the following reasons:
- Failure to pay child support
- Failure to pay parking tickets
- Failure to pay MVC or DMV surcharges
- Failure to carry motor vehicle insurance
- Failure to pay a license restoration fee
Protect Yourself – Hire An Experienced Traffic Defense Attorney
Do not accept a guilty verdict without a fight. Instead, call Law Offices of Jennifer M. Mendelsohn, LLC. Jennifer Mendelsohn is an aggressive traffic defense attorney and has represented individuals all over the state of New Jersey who have received summonses for driving with a suspended or revoked license. She is skilled at negotiating with the various prosecutors throughout the state and will help defend your legal rights and protect your driving record. Call 201-957-0515 or send an email for a free consultation regarding your specific case.